A New Path through Searchland–to a More Distant Destination

I’ve been exploring no-cost and low-cost platform building. One of the pleasantest win-win strategies has been to write book reviews, leaving a reviewer profile wherever I go.

Oct. 16–Today I want to focus on my reason for platform building: to sell books when the time comes. (Coralie thinks she’ll be done the artwork for Scissortown in January, giving us a probable release date of next January or February.)

I used Weebly.com to design my little website, orchestrating the elements to produce what I think is a bright, wholesome, happy atmosphere. However, it didn’t show up in the first two pages of Google when I searched for my name.

My average number of website visitors is certainly increasing; apparently that’s still not enough for Google to associate it with my name in any significant search results.

Let’s see what happens when I Google the terms the free Wordtracker.com tool had suggested.

I chose the rather unlikely page header Stories for Children: Moral Values after checking out various phrases with Wordtracker’s free keyword tool. “Moral values” sounds a little odd to me, but it had a higher KEI (Keyword Effectiveness Indicator) than the more traditional “Christian values” or “family values.”

Here goes:

First try, searching for “Stories for Children: Moral Values”–nada for my site. Oh well, I have nothing to sell yet.

Second try, searching for “Books for Children: Moral Values”–again, nada for my site, but there seem to be some really good sites out there. I hope I’m laying the groundwork now to join them on page one or two later on!

One of my Google+ contacts led me to this info from Conductor.com: “Our analysis showed that natural search drives the most traffic of all channels, responsible for nearly half (47%) of all visits.”

So what’s a new children’s book writer to do? I’ve added another page to my site, with links to my book reviews. We’ll see if that makes a difference to my visitor stats and maybe–just maybe–to my search results.
Interesting Books for Children and Adults

By the way, on checking out this page, you’ll notice a review of She Does Not Fear the Snow at LibraryThing, which claims to be home to 1,700,000 book lovers.

Also, my About.com review is live now (I’d submitted it Sept. 23 and it went online early this month).

Let’s see if these big sites have an impact!

Categories: Journey | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A New Path through Searchland–to a More Distant Destination

  1. Hi Margaret,

    Thanks for referencing our post on Conductor. Glad to see it was helpful. Good luck with getting more traffic.

    Nathan S.
    Conductor

  2. Thank you very much, Nathan.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

