Free and Other Strategies

Since embarking on this blog in July, I’ve experimented with various means to create interest in Scissortown, now due to be released in early 2014.

It’s been fun–the Farmers’ Market, blogging, setting up a website, making friends and hopefully creating goodwill with like-minded people on google+, and reading to the day care children. (The last one is more about learning and fun than promo.)

Now, my latest strategy, a free e-book. . . .

How to Prepare Your Young Child for Success in School

I actually wrote it for my English as a Second Language students a few years back, but found that native speakers of English enjoyed it, too. There’s a lot of pretty basic info, but I also uncovered some interesting research that makes me especially glad two of my grandchildren are learning French.

I’m particularly happy with the photos. I spent awhile looking through some highly attractive (and free) stock photos, but decided to go exclusively with ones provided by parents and friends of the children. It seems to fit better with the “very cheap or free ways to help your child” theme of the book.

I’m hoping to use this e-book as a promo tool, as it lists my website and blogs, and I’m quite pleased with the number of downloads I’ve had from Aug. 31 to Sept. 9 (51).

Something else–one of my google+ friends, Madi Predda, is promoting my e-book and plans to promote Scissortown in her “circles”–Europe, and Romanian communities in Canada. Sounds intriguing!

A look at her page:
https://plus.google.com/115244427392193599696/posts

tells me my book(s) will be in good company!

One more thing–I just googled Scissortown and found myself (and my story) in three places on page two. Until I’d seen page one, I’d never thought of “Scissor Town” as the name of a beauty salon! Wonder if I can get on page one by early next year. . . .

Categories: Journey | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Free and Other Strategies

  1. Thank you for mentioning me Margaret.I can’t tell you how happy I am to hear that my campaign have some results.Hope thing will go better and better and I can’t wait to do the promotion for Scissortown too.
    Thanks a lot,
    Madi

  2. Reblogged this on authorspromotion and commented:
    A post from an author,Margaret Welwood.We are working together to promote her free ebook How To Prepare Your Young Child For Success in School-Happy Children Happy Parents Campaign and she seem to be happy with the results.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

